Traffic Alerts

The Soldier Field north garage and the lot east of the Field Museum raise the parking fee to $22 (and occasionally more), payable with cash or credit card, as you enter when there's a game or other special event at the stadium or a concert on Northerly Island. ATMs are available in the garage. When the special-event fee is in effect, it often also applies to all Museum Campus parking facilities, and meters on Solidarity Drive might be bagged at the same time. Not all fee changes are announced ahead of time, especially during the summer.

Thursday, July 24. Special-event rate of $22 in advance will go into effect at 2 p.m. due to a concert. Metered parking on Solidarity Drive will be reduced or eliminated, so watch for posted signs to avoid getting towed. McFetridge Drive will be closed by late afternoon for traffic management. Expect heavy pedestrian and vehicle traffic on the Museum Campus after 4 p.m.

Also, if your route to Shedd takes you through the downtown area, watch for rolling road closures as First Lady Michelle Obama visits Chicago today.

Friday, July 25. The special-event rate of $22 in advance will go up to $30 at 2 p.m. due to a concert. Metered parking on Solidarity Drive will be reduced or eliminated, so watch for posted signs to avoid getting towed. Expect heavy pedestrian and vehicle traffic on the Museum Campus after 5 p.m.

Saturday, July 26, until 4 p.m. A 10-K race on the Museum Campus may cause brief traffic delays and reroutes.

Sunday, July 27, 5 p.m. Parking increases to $22 in advance at noon for an international soccer game. Metered parking on Solidarity Drive will be reduced or eliminated, so watch for posted signs to avoid getting towed. Expect heavy traffic on campus from noon on, along with heavy pedestrian traffic.

Saturday, Aug. 2. Bears Family Fest. See below.

Saturday, Aug. 9. The special-event rate of $22 in advance will go up to $30 in the afternoon due to a concert. 

Sunday, Aug. 10. The special-event rate of $22 in advance will go up to $30 in the afternoon due to a concert.

Friday, Aug. 29, to Sunday, Aug. 31. Special events at Soldier Field mean parking will be $22 in advance.

Saturday, Sept. 27, 6 a.m. to 3 p.m. A run starting at Soldier Field may impact traffic patterns. Details to come.

Bears' Home Schedule
On the day of Chicago Bears home games, we strongly recommend taking public transportation. See below for routes or check www.transitchicago.com/.

If you drive, expect a higher parking rate on these days — anywhere from $22 to $49 in advance — as well as extremely limited parking availability. For afternoon games, the Soldier Field north garage is often reserved for game ticketholders. Expect traffic congestion throughout the Museum Campus. Rerouting for traffic entering and leaving the campus is a strong possibility.

Sunday, Aug. 2. Parking will start at $22 in advance and possibly go higher as people arrive for the Bears Family Fest, which starts at 3 p.m. Expect heavy pedestrian and vehicle traffic on the Museum Campus.

Friday, Aug. 8, 7 p.m.
Thursday, Aug. 14, 7 p.m.
Sunday, Sept. 7, 1 p.m.
Sunday, Sept. 28, 1 p.m.
Sunday, Oct. 19, 1 p.m.
Sunday, Nov. 16, 1 p.m.
Sunday, Nov. 23, 1 p.m.
Thursday, Dec. 4, 8:25 p.m.
Monday, Dec. 15, 8:30 p.m.
Sunday, Dec. 21, 1 p.m.